Kalamazoo Calls…

Nothing to bring me out of all my other distractions like the appearance of Kalamazoo’s call for papers found here. I’ve been through it twice and only found one session that I could wedge the topic I want to talk about into. Sigh…. even less history than usual. Over 30 pages of brief CFPs and I could only find one sponsored session to apply to. It is turning into more of a literature congress every year. On the bright side, there is lots of hagiography proposed for next year.

Good luck to you all finding sessions…

4 comments on “Kalamazoo Calls…

  1. I’m curious: what do you consider “history?”

    I’d agree that the English/ Anglo-Saxon at Kalamazoo is moving more towards interdisciplinarity (albeit, perhaps, approached from a more literary bent) but I was trained as an “historian” and found dozens of sessions that someone in a history department would be comfortable participating in.

    I’m not trying to be difficult. I’m just curious if there are different conceptions of disciplinarity at work here…

  2. Michelle says:

    I didn’t say I only found one history session, but only one that my topic might fit into. Dozens out of the approximately 500 sessions is not much. It seems there are quite a few sessions that are literature masquerading as history too.

  3. Again, I’m curious how you’re defining your disciplinary boundaries. What’s “literature masquerading as history?”

  4. Michelle says:

    I don’t have time to go through the CFP again and find examples. Hagiography sessions would be some, anything on a particular literary work like Aelfric works I consider to be literature. Anything on Marie de France would be literature unless its about her personally.

Comments are closed.