Kalamazoo Prep begins

The ‘sneak peek’ schedule of this year’s International Congress on Medieval Studies at Kalamazoo is available here.

My session is slotted for 7:30 pm on Thursday. This will be my first evening session but at least my talk will be early in the Congress. So now I better get busy with working on my presentation. Since the schedule is out, I guess I can post the details of the session.

Session 170, Thursday 7:30

The Sacred and the Secular in Medieval Healing IV: Texts, Plagues, and Religious Healing

Sponsor: Medica: The Society for the Study of Healing in the Middle Ages and AVISTA: The Association Villard de Honnecourt for the Interdisciplinary Study of Medieval Technology, Science, and Art

Organizer: Linda Migl Keyser, Univ. of Maryland, and Barbara S. Bowers, Ohio
State Univ.

Presider: William H. York, Portland State Univ.

  • Plague in Bede’s Prose Life of Cuthbert, Michelle Ziegler, St. Louis Univ.
  • Religious and Medical Interpretations of Pestilence in the Late Middle Ages, Ottó Gecser, Eötvös Loránd Univ./Central European Univ.
  • The Lytell Boke of the 24 Stones, Tom Blaen, Univ. of Exeter
  • Hope and Heat: Secular Medicine and Human Faith in Two Late Medieval Resurrection Miracles, Leigh Ann Craig, Virginia Commonwealth Univ.
3 thoughts on “Kalamazoo Prep begins

  1. will the text of these papers be available online after the conference? Of course, if they are going to be published in hard copy, that would be fine too. In either event, I would be particularly interested in seeing the paper on plague as discussed by Bede

    1. I don’t know if there are publication plans. AVISTA does have a journal. I imagine I will blog about my talk on the Life of Cuthbert before and after Kzoo.

  2. I would also be very interested in your talk specifically. I am an archivist at St Peter’s, Monkwearmouth, England and so Bede is very close to my heart.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑