Is this St. Cuthbert? (via Contagions)

A post-mortem of sorts on my other blog Contagions. Let me know what you think!

Is this St. Cuthbert? Somehow I envisioned better teeth.   Actually Dr Shelby Plummer, who examined the remains from Durham Cathedral in 1899, believed that the incisors (front teeth) were lost after death. He doesn’t elaborate on why he thinks that and the loose teeth were apparently lost. As I work on my presentation for Kalamazoo on Plague in Bede’s Life of Cuthbert, I thought I would look at the only paper Shelby Plummer published on Cuthbert’s remains to evaluate … Read More

via Contagions

One comment on “Is this St. Cuthbert? (via Contagions)

  1. I’m pretty sure I can identify those lesions. Though I don’t think the answer will please anyone. More over at Contagions…

Comments are closed.